What are testing levels?

According to IEEE Std 829-1998, there are following four testing Levels

  • Unit Testing
  • Integration Testing
  • System Testing
  • User Acceptance Testing
Unit Testing
unit testing is a procedure used to validate that individual units of source code are working properly. A unit is the smallest testable part of an application.

The goal of unit testing is to isolate each part of the program and show that the individual parts are correct.

It is done by developers

Integration Testing
Integration testing is the phase of software testing in which individual software units are combined and tested as a group.

System Testing
System testing is testing conducted on a complete, integrated system to evaluate the system's compliance with its specified requirements.

It includes

  • Functional/ Regression Testing
  • Usability Testing
  • Compatibility Testing
  • Performance Testing
  • Security Testing etc

Slide 17
System testing is typically done by Testers

User Acceptance Testing
UAT is a process to obtain confirmation by a client that the system meets mutually agreed-upon requirements.

Users of the system perform these tests, which are derived from Requirement Specification

User Acceptance testing is typically done by End User

No comments:

Post a Comment

Design Patterns